I am a god!

Q: Dear Brother Clark, what does the bible mean in the Psalm when it state “Ye are gods”?

A: The Lord has given us the authority and dominion to be like him in forms of judgment, power and standards, and when we truly represent him we are his children and we are called gods. This doesn’t mean we are almighty God, only that we represent God.

The Lord Jesus said “I and my Father are one” so the Jews took up stones to stone him. “I have done many good deeds in your presence which the Father gave me to do; for which one of these do you want to stone me”, Jesus asked? The Jews answered him, saying, “We do not want to stone you because of any good deeds, but because of your blasphemy! You are only a man, but you are trying to make yourself God!”

Jesus answered, “It is written in your own Law that God said, ‘You are gods.’  We know that what the scripture says is true forever; and God called those people gods, the people to whom his message was given. As for me, the Father chose me and sent me into the world. How, then, can you say that I blaspheme because I said that I am the Son of God?  Do not believe me, then, if I am not doing the things my Father wants me to do.   But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, you should at least believe my deeds, in order that you may know once and for all that the Father is in me and that I am in the Father.”   –John 10

We are gods when we are one with God the Almighty. The scripture teaches that we are the sons of God if we are lead by the spirit of God and if we are lead of God we are one with him and we stand in the power as gods over our enemies. Again we’re not the Almighty God, but the power and authority that is given too us when we obey God makes us rulers as gods over our enemy, and over judgments.

In the Psalm it reads, I have said, you are gods, and all of you are sons of the Most High.  Notice how being gods in this context is connected to being a son of God the Most High. Although we are called gods we must not take this out of contexts. It is important to understand thought we stand in the power as gods (judges, preacher, counselors,) if we misrepresent the power God gave us then the Almighty God will judge us and we will be judge as men.

Leave a Reply

